News

Inside The New York Times Book Review Podcast: Inside The New York Times Book Review: American Apartheid

New York Times Book Reviews - 3 hours 28 min ago
Patrick Phillips talks about “Blood at the Root”; Ethan Gilsdorf discusses three new books about gaming; and Melissa Clark on the season’s best new cookbooks.
Categories: News

Crime: The Latest and Best in Crime Fiction

New York Times Book Reviews - 4 hours 48 min ago
New books by Karin Fossum, Harlan Coben, Charles Todd and Sharon Bolton.
Categories: News

Fiction: A Dwarf Becomes a Wolf Girl in This Fairy-Tale Novel

New York Times Book Reviews - 4 hours 51 min ago
A girl undergoes a series of curious transformations in Marisa Silver’s new novel, “Little Nothing.”
Categories: News

Fiction: The Lines Between Patients and Doctors Blur in a Novel Set in an Insane Asylum

New York Times Book Reviews - 4 hours 51 min ago
In Anna Hope’s “The Ballroom,” the patients and doctors at a mental hospital are not so different from each other.
Categories: News

Fiction: A Minotaur’s in Maintenance in a Tale of Rust Belt America

New York Times Book Reviews - 4 hours 51 min ago
A Minotaur finds work as a Civil War re-enactor in Steven Sherrill’s “The Minotaur Takes His Own Sweet Time.”
Categories: News

The Shortlist: Poetry

New York Times Book Reviews - 4 hours 51 min ago
New books by Etel Adnan, Peter Boyle, Hoa Nguyen and Michael Palmer.
Categories: News

Fiction: Melanie Finn’s Second Novel, ‘The Gloaming,’ Is Winning Widespread Praise

New York Times Book Reviews - 4 hours 52 min ago
In Finn’s new novel, a woman in flight from her life’s tragedies settles in Africa.
Categories: News

Fiction: A New Novel About Marital Distress, a Depressed Mother and a Move to Australia

New York Times Book Reviews - 4 hours 52 min ago
Stephanie Bishop’s “The Other Side of the World” is an exquisite meditation on motherhood, marriage and the meaning of home.
Categories: News

Open Book: A Civil War Classic Endures

New York Times Book Reviews - 4 hours 53 min ago
MacKinlay Kantor’s “Andersonville,” an epic novel about the notorious Confederate prisoner of war camp in Georgia, won the Pulitzer Prize in 1956.
Categories: News

The Story Behind This Week’s Best Sellers

New York Times Book Reviews - 4 hours 54 min ago
Witchcraft is suspected in Alan Bradley’s latest book about the 12-year-old chemist-sleuth Flavia de Luce, No. 6 on the hardcover fiction list.
Categories: News

Paperback Row

New York Times Book Reviews - 4 hours 54 min ago
Seven new paperbacks to check out this week.
Categories: News

Letters to the Editor

New York Times Book Reviews - 4 hours 54 min ago
Readers respond to recent reviews of Richard Kluger’s “Indelible Ink,” Richard Cohen’s “She Made Me Laugh” and more.
Categories: News

Nonfiction: The Case for Shirley Jackson

New York Times Book Reviews - 4 hours 55 min ago
Ruth Franklin’s new biography views Shirley Jackson as a writer in the tradition of Hawthorne, Poe and James.
Categories: News

9 New Books We Recommend This Week

New York Times Book Reviews - Thu, 09/29/2016 - 13:44
Suggested reading by the editors of The New York Times Book Review.
Categories: News

Nonfiction: Games People Play: Three Books on What’s Behind the Fun

New York Times Book Reviews - Wed, 09/28/2016 - 23:14
New books on games, their appeal, purpose and often addictive qualities.
Categories: News

Nonfiction: Here Are 10 Practical Solutions to the World’s Big Problems

New York Times Book Reviews - Wed, 09/28/2016 - 23:06
In “The Fix,” the journalist Jonathan Tepperman travels the world to find practical solutions to issues like inequality and corruption.
Categories: News

By the Book: Tana French: By the Book

New York Times Book Reviews - Wed, 09/28/2016 - 22:54
The author of “The Trespasser” likes crime writers who see “genre conventions as starting points rather than limitations, who refuse to recognize that supposed boundary between genre and literary.”
Categories: News

Major key alert! DJ Khaled is publishing a book

USAToday Books - Wed, 09/28/2016 - 19:17

The title? 'The Keys.'

        
Categories: News

'Woman in Cabin 10' makes a splash

USAToday Books - Wed, 09/28/2016 - 10:33

Ruth Ware's psychological thriller is a USA TODAY best seller.

        
Categories: News

With opening of Hazelwood library, first phase of project complete

St. Louis Book Blog - Wed, 09/28/2016 - 09:12
Prairie Commons library reopens Wednesday, marking the end of the first phase of the St. Louis County Library's massive renovation project. It has built two new buildings and renovated nine others so far.
Categories: News

Pages

Subscribe to Missouri Center for the Book aggregator - News